Spies, seduction & the Stasi

Spies, seduction & the Stasi

Posted on behalf of WORDfest Crawley

Best-selling authors Rory Clements, David Young and Jane Thynne will be in conversation with WORDfest’s patron Julia Crouch about their novels.


Perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Tom Rob Smith or Philip Kerr, this event will take you from 1930s Cambridge and Berlin through to 1970s East Germany and includes a chance to volunteer for a communist vs. capitalist taste test!


Rory Clements’s Tom Wilde series begins with Corpus, set in 1936. Europe is in turmoil and in an exclusive London club a conspiracy is launched that threatens the very heart of government. When a renowned society couple with fascist leanings are found brutally murdered, a maverick Cambridge professor is drawn into a world of espionage he knows only from history books. The deeper he delves, the more he finds to link the murders with a girl who died clutching a silver syringe - and, even more worryingly, to the scandal surrounding the Abdication...


David Young’s Oberleutnant Karin Muller series begins with The Stasi Child, set in 1975. When Karin is called to investigate a teenage girl's body at the foot of the Berlin Wall she soon realizes that this is a death like no other she’s investigated: the girl was trying to escape from West Berlin. The Ministry for State Security, the Stasi, assures her the case is closed; all they need to her to do is identify the girl. But it takes Muller too long to realize that the trail she's been following may lead her dangerously close to home...


Jane Thynne’s Clara Vine series begins with Black Roses set in 1933. Clara Vine is ambitious, and determined to succeed as an actress. A chance meeting at a London party leads her to Berlin, and unwittingly, into an uneasy circle of Nazi wives. Then Clara meets Leo Quinn who is working undercover for British intelligence: he sees in her the perfect recruit, encouraging her to use her acting skills to win the confidence of her new circle. When Magda Goebbels reveals a dramatic secret and entrusts Clara with an extraordinary mission she feels threatened, compromised, and caught between duty and love…


WORDfest’s patron, Julia Crouch is the author of 5 psychological thrillers, so she’s the ideal host to draw out the writing secrets of the panel: come along and learn more at this free event.


Books will be available for sale on the night, courtesy of Steyning Bookshop.

When
19 Apr 2018 at 7:00pm
until 19 Apr 2018 at 8:30pm
Where
Crawley Library
Southgate Avenue
Crawley
RH10 6HG

Share this story

This story was shared by

Crawley Info logo

Crawley Info

News and events from local groups, clubs and societies in Crawley
Find out more about Crawley Info

A member of

Crawley

A community brought to you by Crawley Info